Skip to content

Finding Cheap Minimum Coverage Car Insurance

States set their own Minimum Coverage Car Insurance requirements.  Therefore, these requirements can vary significantly depending on the state. For example, the minimum car insurance requirement in New Hampshire is no insurance at all. In Virginia, a motorist must pay an Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee if he does not have insurance.  Other states, however, have some general commonalities in their requirements. The majority of states have bodily injury liability and property damage liability included in their minimum coverage requirements.

How much does minimum coverage car insurance cost?

We analyzed quote data of biggest car insurance companies and compare average rates for minimum coverage. Keep in mind that these are just the estimates. Car insurance quotes are highly personal. They depends on several factors such as age, gender, location, credit score, driving history, and the car that you drive, just to name a few. You should always shop and compare your car insurance quotes of at least 3-5 companies to find out your cheapest quote.

CompanyMonthly Premium ($)
Allstate$64
Geico$37
Farmers$37
Liberty Mutual$73
Nationwide$50
Progressive$53
State Farm$49
USAA(*)$29

(*) USAA is available to active military, veterans, and their families only.

What is minimum coverage car insurance?

You need to have at least the minimum auto insurance coverage your state requires.  If you fail to obtain this minimum amount of insurance, you may be subject to some penalties.  Penalties you may face include driver’s license suspension, fines, a misdemeanor conviction, and getting your car towed.  Furthermore, you face a serious financial burden if you get into an accident.

Insurers generally focus on liability coverage when discussing minimum coverage automobile insurance.  Liability coverage includes both bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Insurance companies limit the payout to a set amount per person and per accident for bodily injury.  Limits are set per accident for property damage liability.

Your policy limits are listed as *max payout per person bodily injury/ max payout per accident bodily injury/ max payout per accident property damage.  For example, Alabama requires your policy have a minimum $25,000 bodily injury per person/ $50,000 bodily injury per accident/ $25,000 property damage liability.  Your limits must be equal to or more than your state requirements.

States which require no-fault insurance include this in their minimum coverage auto insurance. Additionally, insurance companies in states which require Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage include this type of coverage in minimum coverage.

What are the minimum coverage requirements in each state and how much does it cost?

The Insurance Information Institute lists the requirements per state.  They include liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, and Medpay requirements. We analyzed quote data for the average rates for minimum coverage car insurance in each state. Keep in mind that these are just estimates. Car insurance rates are highly personal and depends on several factors: age, credit score, driving history, the car you drive, and your location, among others.

StateRequirementsMonthly Premium ($)
Alabama$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$43
Alaska$50,000 bodily injury liability per person
$100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$37
Arizona$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$54
Arkansas$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$41
California$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$52
Colorado$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$57
Connecticut$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$79
Delaware$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$100
Florida$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$10,000 personal injury protection
$95
Georgia$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$66
Hawaii$20,000 bodily injury liability per person
$40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$10,000 personal injury protection
$42
Idaho$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$33
Illinois$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$54
Indiana$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$39
Iowa$20,000 bodily injury liability per person
$40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$27
Kansas$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Personal injury protection, including $4,500 in medical expenses, up to $900 per month for disability or loss of income, $25 per day for in-home services, $2,000 for funeral burial or cremation costs, $4,500 for rehabilitation
$48
Kentucky$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$10,000 personal injury protection
$72
Louisiana$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$97
Maine$50,000 bodily injury liability per person
$100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$100,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$2,000 medical payments coverage
$31
Maryland$30,000 bodily injury liability per person
$60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$30,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$60,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$15,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage per accident
$89
Massachusetts$20,000 bodily injury liability per person
$40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$20,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$40,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$8,000 personal injury protection
$45
Michigan$20,000 bodily injury liability per person
$40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
Personal injury protection (unlimited)
$1 million property protection
$208
Minnesota$30,000 bodily injury liability per person
$60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$40,000 personal injury protection
$69
Mississippi$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$43
Missouri$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$52
Montana$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$34
Nebraska$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$35
Nevada$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$81
New Hampshire(Minimum limits if driver purchases car insurance, which is optional.)
$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage
$1,000 medical payments coverage
$39
New JerseyBasic policy:
$10,000 total limit for bodily injury per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$15,000 personal injury protection
Standard policy:
$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$15,000 personal injury protection
$106
New Mexico$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$46
New York$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$50,000 liability for death per person
$100,000 liability for death per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$50,000 personal injury protection
$120
North Carolina$30,000 bodily injury liability per person
$60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$30,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$60,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
$33
North Dakota$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$30,000 personal injury protection
$34
Ohio$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$43
Oklahoma$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$43
Oregon$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$15,000 personal injury protection
$88
Pennsylvania$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$5,000 medical benefits
$40
Rhode Island$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$77
South Carolina$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage
$47
South Dakota$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$27
Tennessee$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$39
Texas$30,000 bodily injury liability per person
$60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$60
Utah$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$15,000 property damage liability per accident
$3,000 personal injury protection
$58
Vermont$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$100,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$10,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
$32
Virginia$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
$20,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
$40
Washington$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$42
Washington DC$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$5,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
$66
West Virginia$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage
$50
Wisconsin$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$10,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
$39
Wyoming$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 property damage liability per accident
$26

Is minimum coverage car insurance sufficient for you?

Probably not. Purchasing Minimum Coverage Car Insurance allows you to drive legally within the state. However, car insurance protects you financially if you are in an accident. This is true whether you cause an accident or get hit by another car.  Certain insurance protects you if your car is damaged by weather conditions, vandalism, or is stolen. These are acts and occurrences that you cannot predict. If you are short on cash and wondering whether you should skimp on your car insurance, you certainly cannot afford an accident.  Furthermore, car insurance companies offer affordable upgrades to minimum coverage vehicle insurance.

If you lease or finance your car, you probably will not have the option for minimum coverage car insurance.  Dealerships and banks have a financial interest in your vehicle. They will often require you to have full coverage in order to protect their interest.

What should you add to minimum coverage?

In addition to your state’s mandatory minimums, you should at least add collision and comprehensive insurance to your policy.  Moreover, if your state does not require no-fault insurance, you should either opt for it or purchase medical payments coverage.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Leave a Reply